To Manifest Thought Are Words

It's a folk myth that you can only get eggs to spin cleanly on either the fall or spring equinox.  It can be done at any time of day or year, but what you genuinely need to do this successfully is an extremely fresh egg.  

The light is now noticeably shifting, the dark slowly visibly rolling back.  Very sunny days or very dark days both stand out from the patchy-not-quite-grey that is our spring in the Pacific Northwest.  But once all the flowering trees pop, it's a good bet that we're well away from winter and we're there now.  Instead of dead yard, everything has suddenly turned into a mass of green weeds, not yet up to growing speed due to the lack of sun.  However we get three more minutes of light every day, so full growing speed isn't far off.  Now that the apple tree is moved, the herb bed where it stood in a pot is about to be taken out and reworked, with a nearby raised bed getting a big ol' expansion.  The sage bush in that area will be my next spagyric herb.  My housemate knows to save the leaves for me if she gets around to chopping it down during a time when I'm busy with something else. 

"All the signs adopted by human industry to manifest thought are words."

~ from the commentary preceding a preliminary translation of Magaphon's French commentary to the Mutus Liber


Mostly for this entire week, I've just been operating in fits and starts of cosplay construction.  My plan is simple:  whatever outfits are in the best shape to go as of Thursday night are what goes.  I've got several things in process but I've had some tech snafus, some which could be reworked and some not.  And wigs.  They're practically like caring for living creatures.  We have a room for Friday and Saturday night, which is going to be a Goddess-send when it comes to downtown access on those weekend mornings.  The density is going to be something to watch out for.  Saturday is the BIG day.  Last year, downtown freeway exit ramps got closed because too many people were trying to come into downtown Seattle.  I actually have four work shifts, with one coming on Thursday, the set-up/get-ready day before the con starts.  This is one of the most hilarious configurations yet.  I haul some of my gear downtown on Thursday when I go early to check-in and get my badge, and leave it at Kalla's office, which is in the vicinity.  I do that again Friday morning with the rest of my gear, then work an 8-2 shift.  Kalla will take the bus to work, get off work not long after my minion shift ends.  Then we'll find each other and a strange series of punts and adventures will begin. 

On the intentional, social aspect of the con, my pendulum was consulted when it came to the speed dating.  The pendulum had some specifics:  I have to go twice.  I looked up the planetary energies of each session.  For the first, I get a Venus day, and the session spans times of Saturn, Jupiter and Mars energy.  The second is a solar day and the session will receive Venus, Mercury and Moon energies.  I'm probably going to dress in an interesting combo of my own clothing and be sort of Blade Runner butch for one session and do my X-men movie Blink cosplay option for the other.  Her makeup isn't too crazy, her clothing is all mine, and really if I can just get a herringbone braid into her wig, I'll call the outfit done until such time as I make her jacket properly.  If my Lorelei outfit works out, I'll wear that the day I'm not speed dating.  A muting-face-cage-mask isn't the sort of thing to wear for that, but wearing something that just got seen for the first time three weeks ago on tv on the busiest day of the con would be just about right.